Sympathy

My poem titled ‘Sympathy’ was published in an anthology ‘Inspired By Tagore.’ The contest was sponsored by British Council of India in association with Sampad was a tribute to Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore on his 150th birth anniversary. It was also my first publication in the life. I felt accomplished on this achievement and understood that all my efforts in writing are going in right direction. 🙂
Needless to say, I want a novel and a poetry book published, just because there are many stories in my heart and soul, waiting to be narrated.

Below is the poem. I own the exclusive rights for this poem…

If I were only a little puppy, not your baby
Would you say,”Come later, I am busy.”

Would you ignore me and my naughty antics?
Would you not brush my furs with your fingers?
When my eyes yearn

Would you say “Go away, Play with your toys.”
“Maid, take him away, I am working”
Would you not throw a ball at me, when I am excited to play?
Would you not be with me, till I lick the last drop of bowl?

Would you not comfort me with your soothing hug
Would you not feel how lost I am without you?

Now I will not come to you
I have stopped looking at you
I look at my world, which is with me, when I am alone

They are the ones whom I can call my own
My world has clown, toys, racing cars, games, books

I belong to my world, I belong to you none
Now you have no one to say, “Go naughty child”

Leave a Reply

